Clogging Along

living life in a multicultural world

“Let us read, and let us dance; these two amusements will never do any harm to the world.” Voltaire

This blog is called Clogging Along. The name comes about for many reasons. I am currently living in The Netherlands with my Dutch husband and I wanted to write about things that happen to me here that are different and interesting. Ergo, the clog, which is a typically Dutch image.

fancy-clogsBut I don’t want it only to be about my Dutch experience. I wanted it to be about a lot of different things. Things I am generally interested in, things I want to write about from my heart, from my past, experiences I want to share because they might help me in the writing of them and who knows, maybe even help some other random soul who happened to randomly find me on the world wide web.

You see, in my mind, life is a series of clogging alongs. We clog along, doing our best — as spouses, employees, parents, friends. We stumble, we stomp, we march, we run and we drag ourselves in the show of life.  We dance along wearing different shoes to fit our different roles and our different moods.

We don’t know what it feels like to be in someone else’s shoes, but by sharing our experiences we can learn to empathize with each other and see our commonality — because the bottom line is that most of us have soles and most of us wear shoes.

What shoe fits today?

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on May 16, 2013 by .

Navigation

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

